Do you know the curfew laws in Hoffman Estates? This is a common question asked to our officers. If you are under the age of 17, the following guideline should be followed…
Anyone under 17 years old is not allowed to be present in any public building or place, or on any public street or highway during restricted hours. There are several exemptions to this law. Participating in, going to, or returning from: employment; a school recreational activity; a religious event; or an emergency involving the protection of a person or property from an imminent threat of serious bodily injury or substantial damage.
The restricted hours are:
- Between 12:01 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. Saturday;
- Between 12:01 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. Sunday; and
- Between 11:00 p.m. and 6:00 am on Sunday to Friday.
A person violating the Village of Hoffman Estates curfew law and convicted such a violation shall be guilty of a petty offense and shall be fined a minimum of $50.00.
Additionally, If anyone under the age of 17 is driving during these times, their driver’s license is NOT valid. See the State of Illinois Graduated Driver License Law for addition information and penalties. It is unlawful for a parent, legal guardian, or other person to knowingly permit a person in his or her custody or control to violate the above mention paragraph.
Parents and teens should also know that a minor’s driver’s license is invalid if they are in violation of the Curfew Ordinance. If a minor is driving between the restricted hours, without approved supervision, they can be arrested for ‘Driving without a license'.
Parental Responsibility Laws
With summer and graduations upon us, the Hoffman Estates Police Department would like to remind parents of their responsibly in regard to underage drinking. The law provides for criminal penalties for any owner or occupant of a non-licensed premises or their residences to be used by their child or their child's guest for possessing or consuming alcohol, when the children are under 21 years of age.
A parent is deemed to have given such permission if parent:
- Knowingly authorizes such use.
- Enables such use of the residence to occur by failing to control access to either the residence or the alcoholic beverages at the residence.
- The "permission" described above is presumed to have been given, unless the contrary is established by a preponderance of the evidence. Being "out of town" is not necessarily accepted as an excuse.
Example: A child under 21 years of age is permitted to consume alcohol in their residence, then leaves in an intoxicated state and injures another in a motor vehicle accident, civil liability could extend to parents.
Laws on Alcohol and Tobacco
State law prohibits the use of alcohol by any person under the age of 21 years.
Minor in possession: A person who is less than 21 years of age shall not purchase, consume or possess alcoholic beverages. Violators may be subject to $1,000.00 fine and up to 30 days imprisonment.
Transportation of alcohol: A person who is under 21 years of age shall not possess or transport alcoholic beverages in a motor vehicle. Violators may be subject to $1,000.00 fine and 30 days imprisonment. The vehicle may be subject to immediate impoundment and Driving privileges may be subject to suspension.
Zero Tolerance: A person under 21 years of age in Illinois may not operate a motor vehicle after consuming ANY amount of alcohol. Any violation of this may result in suspension of one's driver's license.
Knowingly permitting a driver under the influence to operate a motor vehicle: may result in being sentenced for up to 1 year imprisonment and a fine of $1,000.00.
Furnishing Alcohol: A person who knowingly gives, sells or furnishes alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 years of age is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor and is subject to a fine of up to $1,000.00. and/or imprisonment for up to 12 months.
Allowing Consumption of Alcohol: A person who knowingly allows the consumption of alcoholic beverages on his premises by a person who is under 21 years of age may be subject to a fine of up to $1,000.00.
Any person who rents a hotel or motel room: for the purpose, or with knowledge that such room shall be used for consumption of alcoholic liquor by a person under the age of 21, is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.
Any person 21 years of age or older who pays for a hotel or motel room or facility, knowing that it is used by any minor for unlawful consumption of alcoholic liquor, and causes intoxication of a minor, is liable for any person who is injured or any property that is damaged by the intoxicated minor.
Minor in Possession of Tobacco: A person who is less than 18 years of age shall not purchase, consume or possess tobacco products. Violators may be subject to up to a $500.00 fine and/or community service.
A judge may assess other penalties under state law and local ordinances.