Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Village receives 2018 Illinois Sustainability Award

Post Date:10/29/2018 12:09 PM

The Village of Hoffman Estates was honored for its sustainability efforts on Oct. 23, along with twenty-six other Illinois companies and organizations. The state-wide Illinois Sustainability Awards were presented by the Illinois Sustainable Technology Center (ISTC), a division of the Prairie Research Institute at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The winners were announced during a ceremony at the Union League Club in Chicago. The Village previously received the award in 2011 and received an honorable mention in 2014.

The Village was selected as a winner due to its long-term commitment to sustainable practices. In support of the Village goal of "Growing to Greenness," the Village offers many sustainability programs to its residents and business community. The Village also demonstrates its commitment to sustainability through concrete action, including execution of a project to conserve energy by updating the lighting both inside and outside the Sears Centre Arena to energy-saving LED fixtures. 

Since 1987, ISTC has presented Sustainability Awards to organizations in Illinois that have demonstrated a commitment to environmental excellence through outstanding and innovative sustainability practices. Any Illinois public or private organization is eligible to apply for the award. Winners are selected through a rigorous process of review and examination by ISTC technical assistance experts.

Other winners of the 2018 Illinois Sustainability Award include:
Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District – Urbana
College of Lake County – Grayslake
dormakaba USA Inc. – Steeleville
Downers Grove Sanitary District – Downers Grove
DuPage County – Wheaton
First Presbyterian Church of Danville – Danville
Golden State Foods McCook – McCook
Greenville University – Greenville
Hilton Chicago – Chicago
Illinois Department of Corrections – Springfield
Illinois Farm Bureau – Bloomington
INTERRA, Inc. – Bolingbrook
Lakeshore Recycling Systems – Morton Grove
Lewis and Clark Community College – Godfrey
Madison County Planning & Development Department – Edwardsville
Menasha Packaging 21G – Edwardsville
Nicor Gas – Naperville
Northwestern University – Evanston
Riggs Beer Company – Urbana
Sheridan Correctional Center – Sheridan
Smart Energy Design Assistance Center – Champaign
Solberg Manufacturing Inc. – Itasca
South Metropolitan Higher Education Consortium – Chicago Heights
Sterling Lumber Company, LLC – Phoenix
Village of Mount Prospect – Mount Prospect
Village of Mundelein – Mundelein 

Return to full list >>