Drivers and Passengers
• Each driver and passenger shall wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat safety belt.
Fine: $25 (fine does not include court costs)
Download a full copy of the Illinois Safety Belt Law
Child Passenger Protection Act
Transporting a child under 8 years
Any person transporting a child < 8 years in a non-commercial vehicle of the first division, any truck or truck tractor equipped with seat safety belts, a motor vehicle of the second division with a GVWR of 9,000 lbs. or less, or a RV shall properly secure him or her in an appropriate child restraint system.
• The parent or legal guardian of a child under 8 years shall provide a child restraint to any person who transports his or her child.
• A child weighing more than 40 pounds may be transported in the back seat while wearing only a lap belt if the back seat is not equipped with a lap and shoulder belt.
• Fine: $75 for the first offense, $200 for the second offense.
Download a full copy of the Illinois Child Passenger Protection Act